NCA to shut down 49 television stations
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-21638,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-13.3,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5,vc_responsive

NCA to shut down 49 television stations

NCA to shut down 49 television stations

22 April 2021

The National Communications Authority (NCA), in conjunction with the Ghana Police Service and National Security Intelligence Operatives, has embarked on an exercise to shut down 49 television (TV) stations for operating without authorisation.

This is part of a continuous monitoring exercise conducted on various Satellite Free-to-Air Television platforms using the Broadcast Monitoring System (BMS) and the Radio Spectrum Monitoring System (RSMS).

A press statement issued by the Authority said the monitoring revealed that some channels had been operating without valid authorisation, contrary to Section 2(4) of the Electronic Communications Act 775 of 2008.

The Act states that: “Except as provided by this Act or any other law not inconsistent with this Act, a person shall not operate a broadcasting system or provide a broadcasting service without a frequency authorisation by the Authority.”

‘‘As a result, forty-nine (49) channels had been identified to be operating without valid authorisations from the Authority and being shut down accordingly,’’ it said.

The statement said TV Stations identified to be in violation and due to be shut down included Asempa TV, Thunder TV (Agradaa), Power TV, Ogyaba TV, BOC TV, Cash TV, SBN TV, Kiss TV, Kwaku Bonsam TV and Chief TV.

The NCA, it said, would continue to monitor to ensure that the use of spectrum was done in an efficient manner.

‘‘We also take the opportunity to caution all license and authorisation holders to ensure that their licenses and authorisations were always up-to-date and in compliance with the stated terms and conditions,’’ it added.

The NCA was established by an Act of Parliament, Act 524, in December 1996, which has been repealed and replaced by the National Communications Authority Act, 2008 (Act 769).

The Authority is the statutory body mandated to regulate electronic communication activities and services in the country.

No Comments

Post A Comment